Is Romance Dead on TV?

Obviously, I am a romantic. I read Jane Austen regularly. I write romance novels, and I admit I rarely watch television any more because there is “nothing good on TV.” The TV is on in my house, but it is background noise. I rarely look up, and I NEVER shut the book I am reading or the one I am writing simply to enjoy a story line. Generally, the television displays a movie I have seen previously. Rarely, do I watch something new simply for the pleasure of it. The reason for my disdain is that I am sick of casual hook ups – sick of no one caring for each other. I am not a prude. I write sex scenes in some of my books, but my characters are looking for a commitment, not a one-night stand. Evidently, others see this as I do. Take a look at the story line below and see if you agree.

http://www.dvrplayground.com/blog/entry/22568/Is-Romance-Dead-on-Television/

About reginajeffers

Author
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is Romance Dead on TV?

  1. suze says:

    I have not really watch TV in about 2 year or so. Like you said it is bacjground noise for me. There are stupid shows out there. ( How I met your mother,& the family guy, (I really hate). I think the worse. I bought two two books this week and my husband said you get you drug for the week. I just made a face :)~ He thinks I read to much.

    • First, no one can read too much; reading is insurance against dementia. When I was still in the classroom, I used to try to keep up with some of the TV shows – a point of reference in speaking to teenagers every day, but now that I am retired, I no longer have to feign interest in the garbage placed on the public airways.

Leave a Reply

