Reconnecting

Over the last few months, it seems I have reconnected with a great many former students and former classmates. At least half of my “friends” on my Facebook page are represented by these groups. Do not get me wrong. I really enjoy finding people on “The Social Network.” When one gets to a certain age, more and more of those “former” acquaintances are not available to us, and we are taken aback because we realize we did not say to them what we should have long ago.

Recently, a dear friend found me, and we are less than 40 miles apart – a miracle of sorts because we are both from a different state. We have corresponded by email and over the phone, but we have yet to see each other face-to-face. The anticipation rises, and I wonder if I have changed so dramatically that he will be disappointed when he first sees me. “First Impressions” are so important. What should I wear? How should I fix my hair? All are silly questions, but we all feel that moment when we must throw caution to the wind and to admit we are no longer young and thin and sparkling with potential.

About reginajeffers

Author
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

